Eating some box models

Nothing like a Sunday and burny hands to kill the motivation to learn. Thanks to coffee I was able to finish up learning about table styling and move into the box model.

When I was in college binging on knowledge, red bull and adderall to get through my finals, I found pneumonic devices very helpful for remembering the order of things. In CSS we have the box model, displayed below courtesy of w3schools.com

box-model

So, it goes Margin Border Padding Content. My device for this one is My Big Pussy Comes (the dirtier it is, the easier it is to remember).

I then spent some time working on borders. I already knew a bit from the table styling, but some interesting things I found included:

  • You need to set the border-style property or none of the other ones , like border-color or border-width will work
  • Apparently I already knew the shorthand way to write this courtesy of an earlier exercise. It goes border: width style color.
Leave a Reply

