And here we go

I have a tendency to love what I’m writing as I’m writing it, then absolutely hate it when I read it later, so I’m going to avoid rereading any of the nonsense I write here.

I’m tired of not having any real marketable skills. I want to learn how to be a web developer so I can make money and not have to talk to muthasuckas on the phone all day.

My main inspiration for this and all skill based endeavors is a lovely quote from Adventure Time:

tumblr_mbjfbwVzvW1rbavngo1_500

This blog will  chronicle my attempts to learn html and css and make terrible websites until they’re slightly less terrible until I’m employable in some fashion or another.

Link states you tricky little things

Yesterday I spent time learning about styling html link states, courtesy of (http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_link.asp). I thought I had the general concept of style sheets, classes and ids down, but apparently link states had no time for that bullshit. I made an id for a link, and then in the stylesheet attempted to copy and pop the example link states in there:

#linktwo
{
link {color:#FF0000;}      /* unvisited link */
visited {color:#00FF00;}  /* visited link */
hover {color:#FF00FF;}  /* mouse over link */
active {color:#0000FF;}  /* selected link */
}

This, however didn’t work, but taking the example from the page and rewriting it so that the id’s were listed after an “a” tag for each somehow made it magically start working:

a#linktwo:link {color:#FF0000;}      /* unvisited link */
a#linktwo:visited {color:#00FF00;}  /* visited link */
a#linktwo:hover {color:#FF00FF;}  /* mouse over link */
a#linktwo:active {color:#0000FF;}  /* selected link */

Not entirely sure why that works now, but it does so I’m going to count that as a win.

Leave a Reply

